TO: Chapter Records

FROM: Gerry Cormier, Chairman, Nominating Committee

DATE: 04 December 2004

SUBJECT: 2004 Annual Meeting Election of Officers and Board Members

At the November 7, 2004 Annual Meeting of the Massachusetts Chapter of the American Chestnut Foundation, elections were held to determine eight Board members and the four officers.

An election notice was distributed to Board Members at the October Quarterly meeting (Exhibit A). Paper ballots (Exhibit B) were distributed to all Board Members prior to the Annual Meeting along with a cover memo (Exhibit C). There were eight Board Members whose term of office is to expire on December 31, 2004 (Sandy Gessford, Richard Hoffman, Gary Jacob, Mike Meixsell, Anne Myers, Guy Shepard, Brad Smith and Dave Uguccioni). Of the eight, only Sandy Gessford declined to stand for reelection. Jamie Donalds agreed to stand as a candidate for the vacant position.

Among the four existing officers (Susan Cormier-President, Mike Meixsell-Vice President, Sandy Gessford-Clerk and Anne Myers-Treasurer), both Sandy Gessford and Anne Myers declined to stand for reelection. Mike Novack agreed to stand for Treasurer at the October Quarterly Board Meeting.

Just prior to the election, Kathy Desjardin had agreed to stand for Clerk and at the Board meeting just prior to the Annual Meeting, Anne Myers nominated Brad Smith as a write-in candidate for Vice President.

NOTE: This year's election is unusual due to the pending relocation out of state of two officers and Board Members. Anne Myers is relocating to Kentucky as soon as she can sell her house, and Susan (and Gerry) Cormier will be relocating to Arkansas in the late Spring. Because of Susan's impending relocation, the position of Vice President has taken on additional significance, particularly since the current Vice President (Mike Meixsell) has expressed his non-interest in the Presidency.

The balloting resulted in the reelection to the Board of the seven incumbent Directors and the election to the Board of Jamie Donalds.

The balloting for officers resulted in the reelection of Susan Cormier as President and the election of Brad Smith as Vice President and Mike Novack as Treasurer. There was not a plurality of write-in votes for any candidate for the Clerk position.

A meeting of the Directors was held at the end of the Annual Meeting and by unanimous voice vote, Kathy Desjardin was elected as Clerk.