MA/RI-TACF Annual Meeting December 2, 2017

MacLeish Field Station, Poplar Hill Road, Whately MA

Elections 10:15am

Board Members Present: Lois Melican, Denis Melican, Rufin Van Bossuyt, Jamie Donalds, Brian Clark, Michael Novack, Kathy Desjardin, Paul Wetzel, Yvonne Federowicz, Mike Grames, Josh Soojian

Officers (1-yr term):

Lois Breault-Melican, President Yvonne Federowicz, V.P. for Communications Brian Clark, V.P for Orchard Management Michael Novack, Treasurer Kathy Desjardin, Secretary

Board Members (2-yr terms beginning 1st of January):

Karen Jones 2018 -- new board member! John Emery 2001 Denis Melican 2005 Rufin Van Bossuyt – Charter, 2001 Mike Grames 2016 - ? Charlotte?

Roy Najecki did not seek re-election.

The nominated slate was elected unanimously.

Josh Soojian introduced a MA forester with interest in chestnut.

Our Chapter hopes to locate consulting foresters and similar professionals who can help in orchards.

Dr. Brian Roth and Josh coordinated setup of Continuing Education Credit for Dr. Roth's talk. The organizations involved are:

(Yvonne to ask Josh)

Conclusion of Board Meeting 10:55pm

Annual Meeting: 11am-3pm

Annual Board Meeting and elections – chapter business

- Welcome Lois Melican
- Chestnut 101 Brad Smith
- Chapter History Lois Melican, Rufin
- Orchard Tour Paul Wetzel
- CHESTNUT BUFFET
- Orchard Development Report Brian Clark
 Volunteer and Squirrel Awards to Mark Meehl and Dave Lent

Keynote:

American Chestnut and New England Forest Ecology

Dr. Brian Roth Acting Director, Cooperative Forestry Research Unit, School of Forest Resources, University of Maine

- Question & Answer Panel Brian Roth, Rufin
- Van Bossuyt, Brian Clark, Yvonne Federowicz

•

• 3:00 Adjourned

Attendance was great!